Adrianna Paliyenko joined the department in 1989, teaching at all levels of the curriculum. Her upper-level courses reflect the cultural turn in foreign language study together with her transdisciplinary work in nineteenth-century French and Francophone studies. A passion for poetry and the history of ideas on genius, gender, and race inspires her research. Publications include: Misreading the Creative Impulse: The Poetic Subject in Rimbaud and Claudel, Restaged; modern critical editions of colonial-era novels: Madame A. Cashin, Amour et liberté: L'abolition de l'esclavage (1847) and Anaïs Ségalas, Récits des Antilles: Le bois de la Soufrière, suivis d'un choix de poèmes (1885); a special issue of L'Esprit Créateur on Romantic-era women's literature on slavery; a co-edited double issue of Romance Studies on the cultural currency of nineteenth-century French poetry; and a co-edited volume, Marie Krysinska (1857-1908): Innovations poétiques et combats littéraires. Her articles and book chapters treat a wide range of topics: discourses of creativity, madness and dreams in medicine and literature; Apollinaire and Breton; Dada; Descartes and Lacan; legacies of poets Louise Ackermann, Marceline Desbordes-Valmore, Krysinska and Louisa Siefert. Her article "On the Physiology of Genius: Pro/creativity in Nineteenth-Century France" recently appeared in L'Esprit Créateur. A volume co-edited with Joseph Acquisto and Catherine Witt, Poets as Readers in Nineteenth-Century France: Critical Reflections, won the 2013 igrs books competition and was published in 2015. Genius Envy: Women Shaping French Poetic History, 1801-1900 was published by Penn State University Press in December 2016. Envie de génie: La contribution des femmes à l'histoire de la poésie française (XIXe siécle) was just published (PURH 2020) Current projects include a literary biography of Louisa Siefert, a bilingual edition of Siefert's Stoïques, and a modern edition of Marie Krysinska's novel La Force du désir. Paliyenko chaired French and Italian Studies from 2006 to 2012 and from 2017-2020, serving as co-chair in 2016-2017.